45th Annual Photography Regional: Salon Show

Tags: Gallery News

The 45th Annual Photography Regional Show will begin as salon-style, which will include all submissions and will be on display from Tuesday, September 19 through Saturday, October 7, 2023. The Artists’ Reception will be held on Friday, September 22, 2023, from 5 - 8 p.m., with the awards announcement at 6:30 p.m. The submitted work will then be juried, and ACG will re-install the Photography Regional Select Show, which will be on display from Tuesday, October 17 through Saturday, November 4, 2023


Jurors: Daesha Devón Harris and Rob O'Neil. CLICK HERE to learn more about the jurors.

Click here to view the artists who were chosen for the Select Show! 

Click here to view the exhibition online! 


Award Winners

Juror's Choice Award: Berta Burr's “Linen & Ecru,” Digital print

Juror's Choice Award: Caroline Valites' “The Only Thing Holding Me Up,” Cyanotype on grid paper

Juror's Choice Award: David De Lira's “The Two Brothers,” Archival inkjet paper

Opalka Gallery Award: Frank Rapant's “This is my father's hand,” Mixed media, photography and writing on paper

McGreevy's Award: Samira Moosaviboora's “Home is my land,” Canon EOS Kiss x5 - 18-55

The Brendan Fahy Bequette Fund Award: Noah Hotaling's “Pinky,” Photograph
Carrie Haddad Gallery Award: Thomas Williams' “Look at Me,” Digital Photo 3D

Honorable Mention: Ally DeRusso's “bloom again,” Toned cyanotype

Honorable Mention: Robert Durlak's “Basement,” Inkjet

Honorable Mention: Elena Keesee's “The Devil Made Me Do It!,” Black and white print

Honorable Mention: Joe Putrock's “Damaged Photograph,” Instant photograph

Honorable Mention: Kris Qua's “Blue Mountain Lake 1,” Giclee print

Honorable Mention: Pattie Garrett's “Portrait,” Photography

Honorable Mention: Nyla McKenzie-Isaac's “Table for One,” Archival digital print


About the Photography Regional:

Since the late 1970s, artists within a 125-mile radius of Albany have entered for an opportunity to have their work on display during the Annual Photography Regional. This annual exhibition rotates between its host sites: Collar Works, The Arts Center of the Capital Region, Albany Center Gallery, and Opalka Gallery at Sage College. Awards will be announced at the opening reception.

Exhibiting Artists: 

Janine Alaxanian, Jim Allen, Ronda Anderson, Deborah Balcanoff, Mary Bannan, Kyle Barden, Peggy Becker Photography, Bettina Lamberti Beiersdorf, George Belva, Shawn Bilodeau, Hem Borromeo, Janene Bouck, Nadia Boyea, Bill Broderick dba Outdoor Memories, Laura Brodsky, Bob Buck, Berta Burr, TJ Casavant, Cat Christiana, Susan Cohen, Robert Cooper, Robert Coppola, Sam Hall Crowley, David De Lira, Martha W. Deane, Gail DeAngelo, Lindsey DeBerry, Chris DeMarco, Ally DeRusso, Grace Tatara DiCocco, Michael DiCocco, Emma Drake, Robert Durlak, Lioubov Ermolova, Denise Ferrari, Steven Fink, Jeanne Finley, Shawna Fitzsimmons, Tom Fox, Brian J. French, Jay Freud, Donna Funk, Pattie Garrett, Tom Gazda, Gail Giles, Benj Gleeksman, Issey Go, Ronald Greenberg, George Guarino, John Hammer, Virginia Hammer, Thomas Hansen, Martin Hatcher, Ray C. Henrikson, William Hetzer, Dave Higgins, Tara Holmes, Stephen Honicki, Noah Hotaling, Connie Frisbee Houde, William Jaeger, Michael Joyce, Elena Keesee, Scott Keidong, Laura Kordowski, Katharine Kreisher, Heather Lane, Jeff Lansing, Gary Larsen, Carrie Lue, Caitlyn Lyon, Sam Mackey, Mark McCarty, Dan McCormack, Nyla McKenzie-Isaac, Samantha Meck, Jesse Meenaghan, Chuck Miller, Rene` Molineaux, ART MON3Y, Samira Moosaviboora, Theresa Morrison, Matthew Mu, Annette Nanes, Aosta Nasutowicz, Fred Neudoerffer, Lucy Newman, Stephen Nicholson, Ann Norsworthy, R. Dennis O'Leary, Clifford Oliver, Luis Oyola, Julie Pamkowski, Mary Pamkowski, Jess Peeters, Petesig.photography, Linda Pinkans, Joe Putrock, Kris Qua, Tim Raab, Frank Rapant, Larry Rappoport, Timothy Reidy, Erika Reilly, Joel Rhymer, Rosa Rivera, Christie Rose, Joann Ryan, Phil Scalia, Michael Schaefer, Mark Schmidt, Cindy Schultz, Mike Shannon, Warren Silverman, Margo Singer, Lindsay Slaughter, John Smolinsky, Ina Song, Henry Spliethoff, Karley J Sullivan, Michael Valiquette, Caroline Valites, Harini Venkataganesh, Cheryl A Warren, Wayland Whitney, Matthew Wierzbowski, Thom Williams, Sally Willse, Bruce Wolford, Mary Jane Zanelli.

This exhibit is sponsored by ACG Premier Sponsor Kevin Dubner, Partner & Wealth Manager at Sentinel Wealth Advisors of Steward Partners. Additional support is provided by loyal donor Daniel Papandrea on behalf of South End Powdercoating and Albany Foreign Auto Services, the Renaissance Albany Hotel, and the New York State Council on the Arts with the Support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.

Convenient parking for ACG events is available at the nearby Riverfront Garage or on-street. For additional parking information, please visit: www.parkalbany.com/find-parking
Albany Center Gallery is a 501(c)(3) Organization for your tax purposes, contributions are tax-deductible within the limits of the law. We are always accepting donations, please consider contributing so we can continue energizing the community through art and empowering artists. We are better together, donate here.